Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Practical New Baby Gifts

Practical New Baby Gifts

Hi all. I have a question that is not SCI related, but that I could use help with, please? My 20 year old niece is due to have her first baby in December ( a boy). She is not exactly financially well off, and we'd like to get a gift that is the most practical as possible, but since I have no children and my experience with babies is rather limited, I"m not sure what might be the most appropriate gift. Debbie's experience with her kids is somewhat dated, and we know there are a lot of new nifty items out there, but we are also not financially very stable and can't buy anything too outrageously expensive. The biggest items are covered already, as is clothing, so what might be a good idea? Baby monitor perhaps? We'd love to give her the world, but since we can't, we just want to give her whatever will be most helpful for her. Thanks in advance for any ideas. Melissa

If she's not financially well off I'd get her diapers, wipes, diaper cream, baby soap, etc. Those are neccessities, unlike clothes etc. and people usually don't buy that stuff. Just don't buy 100 newborn diapers, get size 1 or 2 as he newborn only fit for a couple weeks.

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow"
    ~ Anon

There's a gadget called a diaper genie. Way cool. Diaper genie link

I posted a walmart link just so you'll know what I'm talking about.

C5/6 incomplete, injured Aug. 2000

Some diapers and maybe a few free babysitting certificates to be redeemed when Mom and Dad need a break.

Steve

This may not sound practical NOW, but ... how about opening a savings account or something similar with the understanding that every year you'll deposit $25 (or whatever) into that account? That way, when she's 18 she'll have several hundred dollars to get started with thanks to Aunt Melissa.