Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "Rock star" embryonic researcher protests his photo in pro-life display at UCI

"Rock star" embryonic researcher protests his photo in pro-life display at UCI

"Rock star" embryonic researcher protests his photo in pro-life display at UCI

April 22, 2010

There was an interesting flare-up. UCI is educational home to Dr. Hans Keirstead, co-director of the Sue and Bill Gross Stem Cell Research Center. According to Wikipedia, Keirstead is spearheading the first FDA approved human trial of injecting embryonic stem cells into spinal-cord patients.

So Keirstead is all about human embryo experimentation, which is also his claim to fame.

Keirstead was very upset that the sign on which his picture appeared also depicted aborted babies of all ages along a developmental continuum. He said he worked only with "blastocysts" and not fetuses. I told him I was a lawyer and invited him to sue me. We said that ages of his victims were irrelevant to his culpability for killing them. I am certain that he supports abortion rights without trimester limits, which makes all the more dishonest the fact that he sought refuge in his claim to be involved in the killing of only very young babies. He said we don't use fetal tissue and I responded, "Whether that is true or not, there are many researchers who do."

I hammered Keirstead for an article in the Orange County Register which quoted him as telling the father of a famous motorcycle racer who had been paralyzed in a racing accident that he could cure him in five to seven years [click to enlarge]...