Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Low-quality LCD monitors bad for eyes?

Low-quality LCD monitors bad for eyes?

Hey everyone, I've been using this MAG Innovision monitor for the last 3 years (http://reviews.cnet.com/4505-3174_7-....html?tag=also) and its been really killing my eyes. Are low quality LCD monitors worse than CRT monitors? Also, what's the difference between LCD and CRT and which is better for the eyes?

My eyes just kill. And everytime I use someone's old-school monitor I notice my eyes don't hurt as much.

I've seen some prettty bad LCDs... but seriously, just "listen" to your eyes. If it's hurting ya, scrap it (ebay, etc). Go to Best Buy, Circuit City, etc & try some new ones out. Find one you're comfortable with.

Check your settings first... is the resolution maxed out & the brightness cranked up? Most LCDs look terrible if they're not run at their optimal resolution.

I'm very picky about my displays because I use them (well, one in particular) for soft-proofing my work... meaning that what I see on-screen has to match print copies rather accurately. Let me know if you need any suggestions.

Typically you get what you pay for, although good deals can be found easily if you search well enough.

i have the brightness really low but it still seems "bright" in a way...hard to describe.

Blaming your problems on the poor LCD... where's Justice?

Consider the environment in which the accused is operating. Make sure the room is appropriately lit and not too dark.

-Lewis

Theo: