Thread: Wheelchair loading/unloading design input needed

Question Wheelchair loading/unloading design input needed

I am a biomechanical engineering student working on a design project involving unassisted transfer between a wheelchair and a personal vehicle. Specifically, we are developing solutions to allow for easy loading/unloading of manual wheelchairs without requiring extensive modifications to the vehicle.

To guide our research and development, we would like input from potential users! If you are a wheelchair user who drives a vehicle, or have any experience in applicable areas, I would very much appreciate any comments you have, including (but certainly not limited to) reactions to the following questions:
    1. Do you use a wheelchair lift currently? What type?
    2. How often a week would you use such a product?
    3. What is the most difficult part of the transfer from a wheelchair to a vehicle? From a vehicle to a wheelchair?
    4. How do you get from the wheelchair to the vehicle seat?
    5. Where, ideally, would your wheelchair be stored?
    6. What type of vehicle do you drive? What type of vehicle would you like to drive?
    7. What are the top 5 features you would see in an ideal product?

Your input will greatly shape the direction of our development, as we are wanting to create a solution driven by customer needs. Please don't hesitate to ask questions and provide criticism, and thank you so much for your time and consideration!

Sincerely,
    Brian
    University of Kansas School of Engineering

It's great to hear that you're working on this project. My boyfriend is in a wheelchair (T7-complete), and here are some answers...
    1. Do you use a wheelchair lift currently? What type? A car-top device that picks up the chair and stores it on the roof. How often a week would you use such a product? He drives every day.