Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Hope

Hope

Something that I have been thinking about lately:

What does hope mean to you? Does false hope serve a purpose? What is preferable: accepting a realistic vision of things--or clinging to false hope?

Discuss.
    Last edited by orangejello; 02-06-2010 at 10:13 PM.

Dear Orangejello,
    Hope is what keeps me going everyday. I am pretty new to SCI and was once a former marathon runner. I know I will never run again but I do have hope I might stand and possibly regain bowel and blatter. That would be a Blessing. when I read articles from Dr. Weiss and others on research , it just seems so positive in this century. We have come so far in the last five years. It is worth the hope to see what the future holds for us.

were there is life there is hope. you can still be realistic and have room for hope. I guess it depends what you hope for.

I think with out any hope, it would be difficult to go on. While clinging to ridiculously false hopes are not good, clinging to ones that may be a stretch is probably a good thing.

I need to think a bit more on this.
    T7-8 since Feb 2005

NO Hope is the only False Hope. I hold on to hope, it keeps me going each day. 20 yrs is awhile, some days the hope is stronger than others.

I don't necessarily hold on to hope for myself----but for others.
    Every day I wake up is a good one

False hope is nice, it keeps me going at least. The hope of a better tomorrow or the hope that this really isn't "it".

But strangely I never needed hope before SCI. I could live day by day and just enjoy being alive. If I wanted something I would work until I got it. I was never like, "Oh I hope I do well on this exam!" Or "Oh I hope I win at this bench press competition". I would study my ass off to get that grade and lift everyday until I hit my goal. So I didn't put much thought into "hope" until after I was faced with something I couldn't obtain by working hard.