Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm being filmed by TV

I'm being filmed by TV

This huge tv station where i live picked me up to record a documentary of my accident and how i'm dealing with it and stuff like that.
    I can talk but since i'm new with a SCI (6months post) i wonder if you guys can come up with something that it will help SCI comunity in some way.

I'm not sure i want to spam with X donation website (i wouldnt know which one to say and i dont want to fire up a war in this thread). I was thinking something more of an idea, thoughs...i dont know information it will benefit us somehow to give people.

It's going to have huge audience so i didn't want to miss any bright idea that could show up here.

that is exciting. great that you had the idea to ask for idea's.

Don't play the pity role. That's what they want. Perhaps portray that accidents happen and you want to maximize your potential for when there is a cure which will also benefit many of those with/ will have SCI and their families. And if there's not a cure in your future; you want to maximize what you are fortunate to have left. We don't always have control on what happens to us; but we do have control on how we handle it.

We all have to go thru the stages of grief when situations arise, that's just part of the process of accepting who we become.

Try to inform people that accessibility in everything is a necessity for us. We like to tour the old buildings and go to restaurants and clubs just like anyone else and our money is just as good as anyone elses.

Accessibility...
    Anything worth doing, is worth doing to excess

What skippy said. TV stories like this portray people with disabilities in one of two ways: we're tragic souls who need pity because of the horrible misfortune that's befallen us, or we're da-da-DAH SuperCrips determined to triumph over tragedy despite incredible odds. Usually the stories start out with the former and end with the happy, upbeat latter.