Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programmers

Programmers

Okay, it's confessional time. As we all know, some things are hard to admit, but I'm going to try...

I... I am a programmer. I know a few different programming/scripting languages, inluding [from first learned to most recent] LOGO, Basic, Pascal, x86 Assembly, Perl, VB, Java, VBScript, Javascript, ASP, PHP, Python, LISP, Prolog, and Haskell. I can work with C, but hate it; personal preference.

For the past few years since I have been injured, Perl has become my language of choice for most quick and dirty utilities. Like good rock to a crack-addict, regular expressions are now a feature that is hard to live without. Pascal used to be my language of choice, prior to my accident, and I still tend to use it [the FreePascal cross-compiler] for programs that require vast amounts of memory.

With my confession out of the way , are you a programmer?

What languages do you like using? What languages do you know? I'm thinking of starting a topic to put links to articles and tutorials of interest. Would you enjoy this?

-Steven
    ...and i'm proud to be an american, where at least i know i'm free, and i won't forget the men who died, who gave that right to me.

Steven,

I mostly use VB, ASP and SQL. I do know a couple of others but haven't used them in years.

TimH

Just for web stuff. I don't care for programming (I get bored with it quickly), but I know the HTML flavors (DHTML, XHTML, etc), CSS, JavaScript, as well as bits & pieces of XML, VBScript, & Actionscript (Flash). I know my way around PHP but have never created anything w/ it.

Steven - I'm currently porting some code from Turbo Pascal to FreePascal. So far I like it. It does an amazing job. Did you see my questions on the email list? I couldn't believe how helpful everyone was in helping me get started.