Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: laptop issue

laptop issue

Some time ago, I accidentally installed Win XP on the D drive of an older laptop in which Windows 98, was allready installed on C drive. The system was partitioned (manufacturer settings), and had 128MB RAM.

After the accidental XP install I realized 64 meg went to XP (d drive), and 64 Meg went to Win 98 (c drive). Then I decided to manually F disk and de-partition the drives. Well, I did all of the above, but after reinstalling to original manufacturer specs (Win98), I'm still left with only 64 Meg RAM being listed on the system.

Now I realize xp and win98 use different files (hope thats the right word) of NTFS and FAT32, so is this whats causing my problem, even after re-doing the whole system? I really want to sell this laptop to a friend, but this RAM issue has been driving me nuts. Can you computer guru's help me any? Thanks!

btw, I'm no computer professional (haha), I'm just one of those "putzing" around.

"I guess pain is a great motivator."- Yanni

[This message was edited by Lizbv on 05-31-04 at 05:31 PM.]

Liz:

What is the speed of the processor on the laptop? Windows XP may not work well with 64MB or 128MB of RAM. Do you want to run Windows 98 and Windows XP on the same hard drive?

Multibooting

Microsoft Knowledge Base

PN

From this novice perspective, I dont think the software issues have anything to do with this. As most laptops have room for 2 memory modules, and manufacturers like to fill them up to the spec'ed RAM level (cheaper that way), perhaps checking if in fact both modules are fully seated/actually present? This sounds more like the problem you are describing.

I want to return it to its original state. Win98, 128MB RAM, 586MHZ (I believe). The XP was a "mistake".

Currently, its stating only 64MB RAM

Originally posted by *Andy*: