Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: linux help

  1. #1

    linux help

    so i'll start off by saying that I am accessing the box via SSH It is physically in a location where it would be extremely difficult to connect to a monitor/keyboard/mouse. So I'd like to be able to resolve my issue from the command line....

    I just upgraded to Ubuntu 8 (Hardy Herron). Before the upgrade, I was able to VNC to this box from my Windows machine and access the Gnome GUI without problems.

    It seems that with this upgrade, the way vncserver is started has changed as I can tell it is not running when I reboot. So I started it manually:

    Code:
    daveh0@babybird:~$ sudo vncserver
    
    New 'babybird:2 (root)' desktop is babybird:2
    
    Starting applications specified in /home/daveh0/.vnc/xstartup
    Log file is /home/daveh0/.vnc/babybird:2.log
    Now I can connect via VNC from my Windows box but I get some weird version of the X desktop - see attached screen shot.



    Can anyone tell me how I can get vncserver to start on startup AND how to configure it to show me my Gnome desktop when I connect via VNC?

    Thanks,

    -dave

    *************************************************************
    *** c4/c5 incomplete *** Injured in Summer 2003 ***
    *************************************************************

  2. #2
    Senior Member mr_coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    6,030
    that screen your seeing there is when you type vncconfig on the linux command line.

    When you start vnc server on your linux box it should return the ip address and what port you need to connect to...so if you ping babybird is that your host name?

    if so you should download a nice windows vnc viewer called xmanager which works nicely and you can give it command lines to perform once it connects to the box like startx for starting up the GUI so you can see gnome.

    just supply it the babybird:3 and it should do the rest. if the current vncvewier your using on windows has an ability to type a start up command, type in startx
    Injured:10-16-04
    C7/C8, T1 incomplete;


    For stalkers convenience:
    Blog:
    http://www.ordealsonwheels.com/
    Facebook:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/coryssanchez
    Progress:
    http://photobucket.com/albums/b290/swooty/
    My drawings:
    http://kanvases.com/sites/corysanchez/home

  3. #3
    Try putting the following in ~/.vnc/xstartup

    tom@aurora:~$ cat .vnc/xstartup
    #!/bin/sh

    # Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
    # unset SESSION_MANAGER
    # exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

    [ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
    [ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
    # be sure to comment out twm!!!!!!!
    #twm &

    gnome-session&

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by t8burst View Post
    Try putting the following in ~/.vnc/xstartup

    tom@aurora:~$ cat .vnc/xstartup
    #!/bin/sh

    # Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
    # unset SESSION_MANAGER
    # exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

    [ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
    [ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
    # be sure to comment out twm!!!!!!!
    #twm &

    gnome-session&
    that did the trick. gracias!

    now, how can I configure vncserver to start any time the box is rebooted?

    *************************************************************
    *** c4/c5 incomplete *** Injured in Summer 2003 ***
    *************************************************************

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by daveh0 View Post
    that did the trick. gracias!

    now, how can I configure vncserver to start any time the box is rebooted?
    You need to put a startup script in /etc/init.d and then set it to run on startup. You can look at one of the other scripts there and use it as a template. Then to set it to run on startup do something like:

    update-rc.d myvncserver defaults

    This assumes your script is named myvncserver, you may need to tweak the run level since it needs X to startup, a 'man update-rc.d' should help.

    Tom

Similar Threads

  1. Linux
    By alan in forum Computers
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 02:08 PM
  2. Is Linux Ready for You?
    By Max in forum Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 04:48 PM
  3. Linux and using VNC
    By Fastasaturtle in forum Computers
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-22-2004, 03:13 PM
  4. Linux
    By booster in forum Computers
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-25-2004, 10:29 AM
  5. linux
    By Fastasaturtle in forum Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2004, 09:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •