Thread: Braun van conversion glitch?

Braun van conversion glitch?

Has anyone else had any trouble with the airbag lights on a van with a Braun conversion? I have a 2005 Sienna that is perfectly fine except that when you turn on the ignition, the airbag light doesn't light up. Which wouldn't matter, except that I imported the van and that stupid light (or lack thereof) got me a fail on the inspection. So ridiculous.

The mechanics are stumped. The bulb is fine. The wiring looks fine. The airbags are fine too. Is there something about the conversion process, especially the fact that the front seats are removable, that might explain this? Do they disable the airbag sensor somehow?

I used to be an interior and electrical mechanic at Ford dealership's. I don't think the conversion would do much to cause problems with the airbags unless they accidentally tapped into the wiring for it. I don't know who you have working on it, but you may want to take it to a dealership and have them check it out instead of a independent shop. The dealerships tend to have seen more problems in that area than independent shops. As far as the problem, you never know, it could be something as simple as a wire are going to the airbag module or something as complicated as a ground wire that's come apart in a ground wire splice somewhere. That would be very difficult to find unless the ground wire for the module goes directly to the chassis, or something metal on the van. Good luck getting it figured out.
    C-5/6, 7-9-2000
    Scottsdale, AZ

Make the best out of today because yesterday is gone and tomorrow may never come. Nobody knows that better than those of us that have almost died from spinal cord injury.

Did you have anything done to the steering? Did you get an e-z lock installed with the alarm on the dash perhaps? Any accessory added to the dash?