Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wounded Warrior Project

Wounded Warrior Project

Any with firsthand experience with this group? Looking to support a most effective organization (along with PVA).

Thanks in advance.

quadvet

I have some experience with them. WWP was one of the first organizations I came into contact with while at Walter Reed. The supply all wounded or injured soldiers with a care bag that contains some of the essentials and a few care items to include: underware, sweatshirt, shorts, shower items, CD player, etc. Mostly things you don't have after being evacuated out of theater.

What they are most known for is getting wounded and injured back into sports and back into society through adaptive sports to include bicycles, skiing, fishing, running, rock climbing, etc.

One big event they sponsor is Soldier Ride.

Quote Originally Posted by 6GunCobra View Post
    What they are most known for is getting wounded and injured back into sports and back into society through adaptive sports to include bicycles, skiing, fishing, running, rock climbing, etc.
    That is a very good thing to do. How big is this? Is it funded properly? Is it organisational wise funded (voluntarily funded), or state funded or federal funded? And do they get enough funding for these good programs.

Quote Originally Posted by Leif View Post
    That is a very good thing to do. How big is this? Is it funded properly? Is it organisational wise funded (voluntarily funded), or state funded or federal funded? And do they get enough funding for these good programs.

Leif, there is never enough funding for the good programs. Like any other program like this they could always use more donations.

Thanks for the tip quadvet.
    Anything worth doing, is worth doing to excess

Quote Originally Posted by skippy13 View Post
    Leif, there is never enough funding for the good programs. Like any other program like this they could always use more donations.

Thanks for the tip quadvet.