Thread: Newbie here! Anyone else with Diastematomyelia?

Banned

Smile Newbie here! Anyone else with Diastematomyelia?

Hi there,

I'm Sally and am a new recruit to this forum (i'm a friend of Little Ali who just posted on the SB thread).

So a little about me... i'm 27 years old (28 next week!), and to put it in simple terms, i'm a bit of a mixed bag! I have: Spina Bifida Occulta, diastematomyelia (split cord malformation, which caused my tethered cord - released during surgery when I was 3),hemivertebrae (well, I did until I had a big op 10 years ago to decompress my spinal cord), kyphoscoliosis, leg weakness, right pes cavus (hyperarched foot), left pes planus (flat foot), drop foot (the right one - paralysed during the aforementioned surgery), for which I wear an AFO, and to top it off, I have a neurogenic bladder.

Despite all this weirdness, I had a reasonably normal childhood (well, regular hospital visits were a very normal part of life for me!) - I grew up, got qualifications, went out to work blah blah and have been fine spine-wise for several years now. All that changed about a year ago - started getting horrible nerve pains in my lower back and into my left leg (previously my 'good' leg), as well as weakness and numbness (I already had very patchy sensation anyway, but it's gradually got worse) and all sorts of weird neuropathic stuff going on - burning, stabbing, tingling, hypersensitivity etc. X rays, two MRIs and a CT scan haven't thrown much light on things, only that I have heterotopic ossification at L4/5 and on the sacroiliac joint that *might* be responsible. The next thing is probably a myelogram but having had that before i'm understandably reluctant (risk of spinal cord adhesions, as if I don't have enough scar tissue already!). Other than that, i'm fine

Anyway, sorry for running on! I hope to find more people out there with similar spine issues.

Sally x