Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why test rats, when we should test primates?

Why test rats, when we should test primates?

I'm not a scientist nor a dumb ass either, but I notice several differences b/w a rat and a human. Why don't we test primates, seeing that they are more similar to humans than a rat. I know this wouldn't fly in the U.S b/c of all the animal rights, so why not take it overseas. I imagine it would take a serious lab, but I think it can be done and would prove to be more beneficial than testing therpies in rats.
    Donnie: Dr. Xiao, What are your thoughts on a cure/combination therapy for SCI's??
    CG Xiao: Donnie, I don't want to disappoint you, but I think it is impossible to restore the continuity of the cord or "bridge the gap" in the near future, let's say: 50 years. Dr Wise Young has been my most respected scientist in SCI. He has dedicated and contributed to SCI no other can match.

From a 2007 post:

Quote Originally Posted by Wise Young
    Over 90% of spinal cord injury experiments are in rodents (rats or mice). You clearly have never seen a spinal-injured monkey or taken care of one. They not only know that they have been spinal-injured but they know who did it. If given the choice of giving an experimental therapy to a monkey and a human, I would do the latter first, unless there is a very strong safety or other reasons why it must be done first in monkeys. Monkey experiments are not only as expensive as human cinical trials but there are no reliable monkey spinal cord injury models. Very few labs have the capability of causing spinal cord injury in a dozen or more monkeys and take care of them.