Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: My computer

  1. #1
    Senior Member Hunker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In a wheelchair
    Posts
    3,860

    My computer

    I van be playing Mafia Wars, Golf, but my computer will lock up so I reboot and it is ok? As you can see my mouse works fine now but when it locked up no mouse, no flashing LED? It just stops? I thought well I am running to much stuff. I delete start ups. I have a boot disk but it does not istall dvd, cd, sound etc - does anyone know a majic tric I use xp.

  2. #2
    I had my desktop PC lockup the mouse on XP & ubuntu. Open it up & it was dirty got some stuff in a can from Radio Shack cleaned fans & heat sink (do it outside) let it dry now it runs great.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Hunker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In a wheelchair
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by jryprt View Post
    I had my desktop PC lockup the mouse on XP & ubuntu. Open it up & it was dirty got some stuff in a can from Radio Shack cleaned fans & heat sink (do it outside) let it dry now it runs great.
    True a good cleaning won't hurt it. I wonder why it will not do a complete defrag or virus scan. It says I did a complete windows security update? I leave it on a lot so it is getting hot, is it safe to take a RAM card out and clean it too? This has always been a weird computer. I bought it used. Supoosedley clean shape but who ever had it before me liked professional women body builders. I had to delete some family pics to so if the hard drive is v==bad I'm going to take a power drill to it.

  4. #4
    Try using cccleaner. I use it once a month to clean deep into my computer. If you're running voice recognition, make sure to backup your user files before you use it though, probably onto my documents or something so it doesn't get touched. I've had to redo my user files a couple of times from forgetting about that.
    C-5/6, 7-9-2000
    Scottsdale, AZ

    Make the best out of today because yesterday is gone and tomorrow may never come. Nobody knows that better than those of us that have almost died from spinal cord injury.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Hunker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In a wheelchair
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by rybread View Post
    Try using cccleaner. I use it once a month to clean deep into my computer. If you're running voice recognition, make sure to backup your user files before you use it though, probably onto my documents or something so it doesn't get touched. I've had to redo my user files a couple of times from forgetting about that.
    Thanx I ran a scan in safe mode found a WIN 32:systro-AB[WM] I deleted it and it ran a full scan - i will run that during the football game on Sunday.

Similar Threads

  1. PS3 and Computer??? C5/C6
    By new dimension in forum Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 04:44 AM
  2. what was your first computer
    By Malibu in forum Computers
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 05-21-2008, 08:52 PM
  3. how do I get something INTO my computer
    By Jesse's Mom in forum Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2003, 07:13 PM
  4. What do you use your computer for?
    By Lewis in forum Computers
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-29-2003, 10:46 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2001, 09:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •