Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: using electro on my muscles

using electro on my muscles

guys
    does anyone knows if using electro on my leg muscules to makes them stronger( i am c5 inc) any positives or negatives
    many thanks

Hi, I've been doing FES (functional electrical stimulation) for more than 5 years now. I'm a C6/7 quad. i absolutely love it and I think its the best thing ever. i started with stim, then bike and i've been doing FES rowing for over 3 years. When u look for stimulator, becareful, cuz not all are strong enough and you should get a doc to okay it first. If you want more info, feel free to e-mail me.
    "Always look at the bright side of life...."

http://www.ualberta.ca/~publicas/folio/44/02/07.html

here is a link to an article about FES rowing and me.

Quote Originally Posted by ChinaDoll View Post
    Hi, I've been doing FES (functional electrical stimulation) for more than 5 years now. I'm a C6/7 quad. i absolutely love it and I think its the best thing ever. i started with stim, then bike and i've been doing FES rowing for over 3 years. When u look for stimulator, becareful, cuz not all are strong enough and you should get a doc to okay it first. If you want more info, feel free to e-mail me.
    This is a great new option for getting the benefits of FES. I presently use a StimMaster Galaxy bike so I'll stick with that, but it appears that the FES rowing offers a more intense form of cardiovascular exercise and may be more potent in treating/reversing the effects of osteoporosis.

China,

Do you do any for of e-stim for your abs? If yes, please describe your regimen and results.

I am totally into FES rowing. For a quad being able to work up a heart rate of 133 or higher is pretty great (the most I've gotten from arm bike was 110). It's because rowing is a full body workout. My arms are huge from doing it and legs looks pretty much the same as 8 years ago (b4 accident). I row about 2100 meters per session and feels great.