Thread: Grad School Funding--Voc Rehab, Grants, Scholarships or Aid?

Grad School Funding--Voc Rehab, Grants, Scholarships or Aid?

Hi all!

I apologize for not being around CareCure as much as I'd like; I've been quite busy, but that's no excuse.

I'm planning to start graduate school in October via the University of Florida's Internet-based Master of Science in Entrepreneurship (MSE) program.

I had initially planned to seek a Master of Business Administration (MBA) via UF's Internet-based MBA program, and I applied to Voc Rehab for funding assistance, but was rejected.

For background info on my qualifications for assistance, I'm looking to qualify as a student with a physical disability (specifically C1-2 vent-dependent quadriplegia) who can demonstrate high-achievement, i.e. meet GPA requirements in particular. UF offers an Online Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (OBSBA) Program and I completed it with a 4.0 GPA (I graduated August 9, 2008; click HERE for a 19-second Windows Media video clip of me rolling across the stage, or click HERE if you want to know more about my educational journey).

I did not seek funding for my above referenced bachelor's degree, for several reasons. To start with, I'm a Florida resident and thus have in-state tuition. Also, I was essentially a junior when beginning the OBSBA Program and the total cost of tuition and books, spread out over the three years in which I completed the program, was about $3300 per year. Since I'd heard that Voc Rehab was under-funded, and I also knew that, at the time, $3300 per year wasn't extraordinarily difficult for my family to cover, we decided to just pay it ourselves.

But graduate school will cost roughly $25,000 over 20-months, and I/we will need funding assistance.

Does anyone know what the best approach is for a quadriplegic to get funding for graduate school? Are there Federal Grants for which quads qualify or is Voc Rehab the government's way to provide such assistance?