Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How can they charge more for WC accessible rooms?

How can they charge more for WC accessible rooms?

Ok, we're going on our first overnight trip with our son this weekend and while looking for a room, I found a hotel that charged $18 more for wheel chair access. I know I'm new to this whole SCI thing, but has anyone else seen this.
    FAITH: Is not believing God can, but knowing he will.

In the US? They can't. From the ADAAG:

9.1.4 Classes of Sleeping Accommodations.

(1) In order to provide persons with disabilities a range of options equivalent to those available to other persons served by the facility, sleeping rooms and suites required to be accessible by 9.1.2 shall be dispersed among the various classes of sleeping accommodations available to patrons of the place of transient lodging. Factors to be considered include room size, cost, amenities provided, and the number of beds provided.

(2) Equivalent Facilitation. For purposes of this section, it shall be deemed equivalent facilitation if the operator of a facility elects to limit construction of accessible rooms to those intended for multiple occupancy, provided that such rooms are made available at the cost of a single occupancy room to an individual with disabilities who requests a single-occupancy room.

Are they saying that if they rented this same room to someone not in a chair it would be $18 cheaper, or that the only wheelchair accessible room they have available is in a price range that is $18 more than the available non-accessible rooms? There is a difference. If they are saying the first, then it is definitely an ADA violation. Is this a chain? I assume it is in the USA??? If it is a chain, you need to call their corporate offices and complain loud and long.

(KLD)

kld, as always, is right. in the u.s., this is illegal. please provide the hotel name and i will write or call.