Thread: Seeking online (caregiver) workout buddy

Seeking online (caregiver) workout buddy

I've been using the fact that I'm a caregiver for my husband (c5-6) as an excuse for not taking care of myself physically. I also work full-time (no kids)and have an active social/community life. I joined Curves this week and plan to begin walking more. Looking for online support that will help me stay the course. I'm not a superwoman however I want to hold myself to a higher expectation re. self care. I'm a nurse so am too aware that after 50 I will soon begin to pay the price for a sedentary lifestyle. That would be bad for me and for Jim. Anyone else ready for to start taking care of yourself with the same committment that you take care of your loved one?

BTW - I'm fairly new to these forums but have been posting in the Private Caregiver forums. Not alot of traffic there so bringing this question to the larger Caregiver forum.

Smile

Great idea! It's been a long winter, I had to insulate and it got out of hand. Walking and at home work-outs would work for me. How do you propose to do this?

By the way, I'm Deb and am the caregiver for Jim also, but he's my brother. His MVA was almost 9 years ago and is c5 complete. We moved back here to Madison 3 years ago.

Great! Anyone else want to join in?

We could do it a couple different ways - if there are a few of us we could just use this thread to state our SMART goal (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely) and then decide how often we want to report in.

I'm in MN so we get your weather about 12 hours before you do. It has been a long winter. I feel like I'm crawling out from my winter den.

Count me in