Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Went over SSI limit... Spend lots now?

Went over SSI limit... Spend lots now?

I have been recieving SSI for about 5 years. I got my first followup call the other day. Now they send me a form wanting my bank statements and said it will stop, because I am a few thousand over the limit ($2000). I did not know there was a limit. I am in school and don't work.

But it so happens my house needs a major repair. Would it look bad if I up and spent 2-3k at once?

I feel so stupid for getting too much money. I was just keeping extra incase of "emergncy" situations. But, I did not know you could only have $2000.

I am getting really nervous now. Searching I see "penalties" for over payments. I have had over the limit for a while. My main cause for this was incase I lost my finicial aid. I did not want to be stuck with borrowing money.

My home really does need a repair. I am not saying that I will just spend the money.

I don't even remeber signing up for SSI. Much less going over the limits and rules.
    Last edited by Human; 03-18-2009 at 12:28 AM. Reason: getting nervous

You should have know about the $2000 asset limit. It is very clear when you apply for SSI and/or Medicaid. It has been in place for many years. Spending the money, regardless of what you use it for, to try to "hide" it may be considered fraud by Social Security. It is likely you will loose your SSI and may have to pay a fine as well. Suggest you seek legal representation ASAP.

In the future, if you get back on SSI, you should look into a PASS program to designate funds specifically for your disability needs (such as a van or accessible home modifications). This has to be approved in advance and cannot be set up after you accumulate the funds.

(KLD)