Thread: Now the questions and fear( Colostomy)

Now the questions and fear( Colostomy)

An update after speaking to my SCI doctor on the phone today.

Based on my bowel and other medical issues he agrees that a Colostomy is possibly the best solution.

I am a veteran so I would have the surgery at the VA SCI Center. My doctor says that the surgery is performed by General Surgeon at he VA( not colorectal surgeon).

My doctor says the surgeons do about 6 to 10 a year on SCI patients. He is not aware of any serious complications. Should I worry about a General surgeon doing procedure?

My doctor said that 90 percent of their procedures they recommend and are done on the upper left quadrant.

Now my fears!
    Am I making the right choice?

Will it give me independence to live free of my home and to travel(something I haven't been able to do)?

For those that have gone before me, would you still have the surgery or not?

Any comments are appreciated, my mind is racing....thank you!

I think you are making the right choice. If you are currently limited as to leaving your house by your bp (sounds like it in your post) this will make a big difference.

Mine was emergency surgery, so I didn;t have to make the choice. It is reversible, but I decided early on no to have it reversed. The first thing my surgeon said when I told him that at mt 4 month checkup, was "oh I am so glad, I thought I might have to talk you out of it!".

Knowing what I know now, I would certainly make that choice if it came to it.
    T7-8 since Feb 2005

Is this at a VA SCI Center? These procedures are only supposed to be done at these centers in the VA System, not at a non-SCI Center VA hospital.

Will it be done laprascopically?

Have you met with the CWOCN (ostomy nurse) yet?