Thread: Please help!! Switching from Morphine to Fentanyl in Pain Pump

Please help!! Switching from Morphine to Fentanyl in Pain Pump

Hi, this is my first time writing. My fiance, who sustained an incomplete C6/7 injury back in 1989 had a pain pump implanted in October 2007. Despite some of the issues such as pre-refill withdrawal and one surgery "do-over" surgery, the pump, which was filled with Morphine and Baclofen, has provided a good deal of relief.

On Thursday of this week, the pain doc refilled the pump with Fentanyl instead of Morphine, keeping the Baclofen. On Saturday, my fiance was very nauseated, with a low-grade temp and vomited a bit, which we attributed to the adjustment to the change in meds. Then last night he began to have severe back and leg spasms, followed by sky high blood pressure and feeling short of breath. We could not find any way to alleviate the symptoms, so I called 911.

My feeling was that perhaps the Fentanyl dose was too low compared to the Morphine, and when they administered 4 gm morphine in the ER, he got some relief, his BP dropped, his pulse ox was good, but his respiration rate remained a bit high. When they moved him to ICU several hours later his spasms started again in the too-small bed, so his BP shot up as did his feeling short of breath. So they intubated him. Right now he is very comfortable, but still has a fever. There is no UTI or pneumonia, and I asked them to check for a bowel impaction or obstruction.

I have contacted the pain management doc's office which is at another hospital an hour away, but they do not have a 24 hour service. I want to see how the doses of Fentanyl and Morphine compare. But I have to wait until Monday to speak with him.

My questions are has anyone had similar experiences when changes in meds are made to pain pump meds? Could I be missing something?

Thank you for any help. I am beside myself with worry and sadness.

Quote Originally Posted by betsygal View Post