Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Voice Loss with a C2 break - looking for info

Banned

Voice Loss with a C2 break - looking for info

Hi all,

My mom (C2 break and in a Halo...and happily continues to regain more sensation and movement every day) has NOT regained her voice though and I was wondering if anyone knew anything about this.

She did have her voice immediately after the accident but within a day or two (this was back in mid-November) lost it. It has not improved at all.

She also continues to have problems swallowing completely and keeps getting liquid going back into her lungs when she drinks.

Appreciate any insights you all may have!
    Blessings

I'm no expert. Her diapfram is afected at C-2. If she is slowly getting better , it might take awhile for it to come back. Her eating is a good sign. I couldn't eat for over 2 months or drink for 2 1/2 months. So in time hopefully things will improve. I'm sure one of the nurses has a better idea and more info.
    oh well

My Dad is the same way. He was in a halo also. Some doctors think it is because his head is tilted too far back or there is something going on with his throat. The only problem is no one around here wants to help him.
    I wish your mother the best
    --ME
    *May God bless you and your family*

Hi. I am a speech pathologist and there are a few possible reasons for the loss of voice and the dysphagia, or difficulty swallowing. Please ask your doctor for a consult for dysphagia by a hospital speech pathologist. There is a video x-ray study that can be done to see what is happening and what can be done to make eating and drinking safer. The difficulty can be from positioning and from nerve damage. You CAN get some answers. The fact that there is aspiration, or food/liquid going into the lungs is a primary reason to follow up. One does not want lung infections. Hope this helps.

No tracheostomy?
    Get a speech therapy consult.

CWO

Banned