Quadriplegic painter donates piece to benefit Spinal Cord Society
By ERIC MOSKOWITZ, Standard-Times staff writer

PETER PEREIRA/The Standard-Times
Deborah Fleet, an artist from Acushnet, started paiting after a 1982 car accident that left her quadriplegic. She has honed her talent and won local awards, and a painting of Ned's Point Light will be raffled to benefit the Spinal Cord Society.
MATTAPOISETT -- A striking oil painting of the Ned's Point Light will be raffled off this weekend at Harbor Days, one that hangs for now over the mantel of Jamie Shepley's Mattapoisett home, and he's loath to give it up.
But the painting is noteworthy beyond its remarkable realism, the sweeping grandeur of the clouds or even the way the boulders seem to pop off the canvas.
You see, Deborah Fleet is colorblind. She is also self-taught. And one other thing about this Acushnet artist: She is a quadriplegic with limited use of her hands.
Today and tomorrow, tickets can be purchased for the raffle at the Spinal Cord Society booth at Harbor Days, an annual summer festival at Shipyard Park in Mattapoisett. All raffle proceeds (tickets sell for $2 apiece or three for $5) go to spinal-cord injury research.
A star infielder who co-captained the 1979 New Bedford High School softball team, Ms. Fleet, now 40, was left quadriplegic after a 1982 automobile accident. Having taken just a single art class in high school, cartooning at that, she came upon painting mostly as a way to pass the time after her accident.
"It's so good she found out she could do this," said her mom, Harriette, "because she's not really a TV watcher."
In fact, the only programs she seemed to watch were the PBS painting shows hosted by Bob Ross and Bill Alexander. Although Ms. Fleet picked up a brush tentatively at first -- "we were very nervous, to see if she could do it," Harriette said -- painting has proved to be so much more than a hobby to pass the time.