Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Have I Been Hacked?

Have I Been Hacked?

I've been playing a Yahoo word game for a few months. I played against a woman maybe 50 times over 6 months. We exchanged a couple emails to find out when would be a good time to play each other. I had a crazy Yahoo ID with bogus information. I never met her or talked to her. I never told her my name, my location, age, etc. or any personal info....except my IP address is apparently encoded in my email somewhere. Anyway I got an email the other day from her and it basically said "here you go" and there were 3 hyperlinks included in the message that said "stat.2234". I clicked on the links and they were pix from within my own computer! They are not on Photobucket or Flickr. I run a McAfee Security Suite and no intrusions were detected. No viruses or keystroke detectors found either. WTF happened...any computer geeks out there got an idea? I swapped modems and it generated a new IP address and I had a Geek Squad guy come out and he checked out my system and said everything seemed ok. By clicking on the links could I have given her remote access to my computer via some type of PVN or had she already hack into my computer? I don't get it. Thanks.

What exactly were the pix of?

It could just be a trick. Can you post the links here?
    ...it's worse than we thought. it turns out the people at the white house are not secret muslims, they're nerds.

Malware

Sounds like a Malware infection.
    Spybot Search and destroy may help.
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/spybotsd/index.html
    Although first you may have to clean off the Malware
    The forum on Safer Networking provides a lot of info.
    Start with the stickies in the Malware forum:
    http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=22
    Jeff
    Doh!