Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: its been 4 years since my SCI!

Talking its been 4 years since my SCI!

Well it was 4 years on the 16th. I can still smell the air of the night this all happened. It was slightly chilly but it was one of those nights where the air smells so good, almost like your in the middle of a forest. I was in Erie though and I was surrounded by woods (Penn State Behrend is the bushes) and I can still remember looking at my roommate and telling him, whatever you do, DO NOT WRECK. Roommate: "Don't worry I'm a good driver." Me inside my head "I've drove him with before, he wasn't a bad driver..."

Its nuts how fast time flys by, I can still smell the hospital (it reminds me of latex gloves), the days looking at the mirror hating myself and what I've become. Watching my beautiful girlfriend slowly drift away from me but I'd look at the pictures of us on the hospital walls and still have a small sense of hope that it will all be okay when I get out of this hospital. Her laying with me in the bed, when I had diapers on, my 8 pack was nothing but a huge gut, and my teeth were chipped to hell from the roof smashing my head.

I can still remember laying on my couch, with my mom on the chair, us both crying, and her telling me if I still wanted to die in 3 years, she'll let me do it. I remember that moment having some happiness, because I knew I could end all this suck in 3 years.

But its been 4 and I actually feel pretty happy, never thought I would be but everything seems to be falling into place.

Tomorrow I'm going to my first Penn State game in the chair. I was always turned off because I would have to be in the wheelchair and all my friends are in the seats while I'd be in special wheelchair section.