Thread: 94 cent caster bearing installation tool

94 cent caster bearing installation tool

Just wondered if anyone else has a hard time pushing new bearings into caster wheels. I'm new to using aluminum casters and it is even more difficult. Here's my cheap solution:

Parts: (see pic)

5/16" hex bolt 2.5" length (give or take)
    5/16" fender washers x 2
    5/15" flat washer x 2 (probably unnecessary, but I had them around anyway)
    5/16" nut

and two 1/2" wrenches

I tried to number the steps with pics, but the numbers are kind of hard to see (and cheap cell phone pics)...sorry.

Push one bearing into wheel (notice in pic 2 they will still stick out a little), place two washers on bolt and slide bolt through first bearing (pic 1). On the other side place spacer and 2nd bearing onto bolt and push in a little (pic 2). Add remaining two washers and nut to the end of the bolt and tighten with wrenches (pic 3). Once bearings are set just reverse the nut, remove the bolt, and voila! (pic 4).

Good luck.

Bearing removal coming up...

Yha, used that way for rollerblade wheels.

Simple, effective, and keeps the bearing straight.

Nice!

Removal

Again, new to aluminum caster wheels...Removing bearing is MUCH easier with plastic casters or roller blade wheels. You can just pry them out.

Aluminum is not so flexible. My removal process is much less graceful than installation. (If there's an easier way...please help me)

Tools:

Hammer
    Torx screwdriver (because it was close by)
    1/2" Bolt (again, close by)

The hard part is removing the first bearing. Stick the driver (or some tool that will fit) through the top bearing at an angle so it hits the inside of the bottom bearing and hammer it out. You will probably need to rotate a few times so the bearing comes out straight.