Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kicked Bootay Waterskiing!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Kicked Bootay Waterskiing!

Now, I was nervous, as I've run the gamut from fun to hellish out at the UKan Ski clinic in the past. The 1st year was great. 2nd year, though...I didn't know I had Graves disease, hair was falling out, I was wasting away. The water was mad choppy with big boats throwing big wakes. It was hottttt, and disorganized. I got left in the sun too long, overheated, and stuck on a racing ski when I was a beginner. It SUCKED. And the year after that, I was in New Mexico trying to get well but CLC broke his hip ack, and some other ppl got hurt too. Last year was flooded out, so I signed up this time with some trepidation.

This year fell into place. Got paperwork in plenty of time. Sent it in, they called me, said to watch the mail for waiver etc. (Good thing, I'm bad about checking mail.) The paperwork said to bring water shoes, usually a problem, I can't get them on. Hadn't tried in a while, swoosh, my scuba booties went on smooth as silk! (Our fingers DO improve over the years, obvs.)

It started at 8, which felt really early LOL. 80-ish outside, 99 forecast afternoon high. Got out there, didn't know a soul but the vibe was good, it wasn't an overcrowded disorganized clusterf***. The goodie bag had sunscreen, spf 30, and gray t shirts. (A relief-I have a new push-up swimsuit and didn't want to push OUT of it, y'know?) A donor even paid, so we got to ski for free!

They measured me rather than eyeballing me. Used duct tape and pipe insulation to custom tailor the cage, so it would fit on the wide beginner's ski. Plenty of big men to pick me up, put me down, comment that they are glad I'm light. A lifejacket that fit. Scuba booties were the ideal foot protection.