Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Alcoholic Neuropathy newbie

Alcoholic Neuropathy newbie

Hi
    I'm a newbie here and this is my first post and I have a few questions. I have all the classic symptoms of Alcoholic Neuropathy. Early numbness of the soles followed by pins n needles and then the unbelievable burn. Although it started in the right foot the symptoms progressed to the left however the left foot has now only minor symptoms being a slight burn and slight tingling and minor numbness on tips of toes. If anything it seems to have reversed where as the right foot has gone Ballistic!!! I have never experienced this level of mind blowing Pain. again all the classic symptoms affecting my whole foot up to the ankle and absolutely no way to walk other than crutches and using my left leg for support. I'm not a diabetic and have self tested electronically at home to confirm .I am a 46 year old male and a heavy life long drinker but not any more! 3 days and not the slightest desire and besides this has scared the crap out of me.
    A few quesations

1. Isn't this disease supposed to affect both feet?
    2. I live in Bangkok and go into hospital in a few days for tests. You don't need a script here you just go into the chemist and buy anything you want so I have been taking 600gm of neurontin for the last 3 days and it has done little for my pain but helps me fall asleep. What should I do with the dosage whilst I'm awaiting my hospital diagnosis?

Thanks in advance

Good that you stopped using alcohol! That is the first step. Next, wait for the neurontin to work. It is not a pain pill that works within a few hours. You have to be patient. It is more like an antidepressant. It takes a while to feel the benefit. I wish you success with kicking your alcohol habit!

Thanks for your encouragement SoFla. I will quit just like with the ciggies cold turkey, besides with all this squirming in pain I would spill more than I would drink