Thread: YouTube: Failed (unable to convert video file)

Question YouTube: Failed (unable to convert video file)

I'm trying to upload two wmv. files that were produced by a friend using MS PhotoStory and I get this message after they upload: Failed (unable to convert video file)

What am I doing wrong? How can I get these uploaded correctly? I'm new to the video upload so please help an old fart old.
    "It is every man's obligation to put back into the world at least the equivalent of what he takes out of it. Try not to become a man of success but rather try to become a man of value." - Albert Einstein

Youre using the wrong format I believe:

http://www.webvideozone.com/public/308.cfm

Quote Originally Posted by from above link
    YouTube video requirements and recommendations
    YouTube accepts video files from most newer digital cameras, camcorders, and cell phones in either an .AVI, .MOV, or .MPG file format. According to their site, videos saved with the following settings convert and display the best:

MPEG4 (Divx, Xvid) format
    320x240 resolution
    MP3 audio
    30 FPS

Thanks paton. Sounds like I need to find a free wmv to mp4 conversion program. Any suggestions?
    "It is every man's obligation to put back into the world at least the equivalent of what he takes out of it. Try not to become a man of success but rather try to become a man of value." - Albert Einstein

I had one, i think it was called Kates video converter.... It worked so i was happy...

Hopefully someone else chimes in, as i found that by scrolling through downloads.com

You might want to try to re-encode it with Windows Movie Maker. That is the program I use to make videos for youtube. Also, maybe size is the issue. There are size limits to how much you can upload.

Quote Originally Posted by DeadEye
    Thanks paton. Sounds like I need to find a free wmv to mp4 conversion program. Any suggestions?
    Hi DeadEye,