Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So I am thinking about going to medical school, any advice?

So I am thinking about going to medical school, any advice?

Okay,

here is the deal.

I skillfully flew my motorcycle off a large sand dune and landed with just enough force to earn a "t-6 complete" on my discharge papers about six months ago. I have about three semesters left to get my undergrad economics degree. But being paralyzed kinda has a way of rearranging your priorities. When I was in rehab, one of my doctors was a paraplegic too. I started thinking "hey I could do that". And I've been doing some research. I am sure that I could do that, at least as far as the schoolwork and learning and whatnot is concerned.

But can I REALLY do it? I dont know. It would require an extra 2 or 3 semesters undergrad (no problem. Then it would get tuff. If I studied my ass off and did good on the MCAT I might have a 50% chance of getting into med school (any med school, 60% of all applicants dont get into ANY school each year, and the average applicant applies to 15 schools). Then it would get really tough.

I would have to work hard for the first couple of years in med school, but I dont see that being too much of an issue, its mostly book learnin' from what I understand. Then it would get a bit tricky.

The last two years of med school I would have to do clinical rotations and try out some of the different specialties. That could be a bit tricky for some of them from a wheelchair. But I am sure I could figure my way thru it. Then it would get REALLY REALLY difficult.

I would have to do a residency somewhere in whatever specialty I picked. And I would have to work about 80 hours a week with 30+ hour shifts for 3-7 years while getting paid just enough to not starve.

Then I would be able to get a job doing something that I really want to do, in the end I think it would probably be worth all the work (and the quarter million in student loans).