Tab Content
No Recent Activity
About Sythellri

Basic Information

Date of Birth
June 5, 1991 (28)
About Sythellri
Are you::
A person with SCI/D?
Date of injury (NA if not spinal-injured)?:
August 2012
San Francisco, CA
I don't update this very frequently so please read it with a grain of salt. (Last updated February 2019)

I'm a C 5/6 quadriplegic, 27 years old and currently a student at my local community college preparing for transfer to a four-year institution. My first choice university is University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) but I don't know if I will get in because my grades, from when I was able bodied, are absolutely abysmal. My grades since returning to school, with a disability, are perfect straight A's though so I hope the Admissions Office will factor that in.

I was injured in August 2012 and spent 3 years hospitalized from surgeries/wounds then 2 years doing nothing. I returned back to school in January 2018 and am currently pursuing a degree in Aerospace Engineering with a focus in Astronautics. I would ideally love to work at NASA because of its relation to my desired major and because public sector jobs are much more friendly for people with disabilities.

I grew up watching tons of Japanese anime and since I love outer space, you should already assume one of my dreams is building a giant fighting robot. It's not very realistic because we have no materials or energy source yet that could possibly support or power something so I decided to scale it back to something more realistic like helping design a space colony to which I will eventually retire.

I haven't given up on finding a girlfriend but have had no luck whatsoever dating since I became quadriplegic. It's just a very difficult hump to get over when beginning a relationship.

I don't really know what else to say so I will just include some random information about me that somebody on this forum might need to know if I ask a particular question.

I ride a Permobil M300 but I'm trying to get the Department of Rehabilitation to fund a standing wheelchair like the Permobil F5.

I use a Quadstick along with Dragon Naturally Speaking for computer work but primarily use my iPad which is attached to my wheelchair.

I have a rolling track lift instead of a hydraulic patient lift.

I have a rampvan which my family/caretakers sometimes use to drive me around but I primarily take paratransit to and from school. In the future, I would like to make modifications so I can drive myself.

I would love for there to be a cure to spinal cord injury but since there's no solution yet, I'm not gonna hold my breath and wait. That just seems to be self-defeating.
Why did you join this forum?:
I was looking for a community to ask advice from.
How did you find us?:
What do you think of this site?:
It's all right but very dated.


Total Posts
Total Posts
Posts Per Day
General Information
Last Activity
09-01-2019 09:15 PM
Join Date
Home Page