PDA

View Full Version : Strange email address


Michael22
10-06-2006, 03:40 PM
For a couple of years I've been emailing my friend in Mexico. Normally, to write him I hit "Create mail", type in the first few letters of his name & the rest fills in automatically. Yesterday I hit the "Reply" button instead & in the "to" field was four numbers, like "4329juan@mercadolibre.com". (Not those exact numbers to protect my friend). When I sent him mail there, at that address, he received it.
And when I typed in www.mercadolibre.com I got a website that looked like the Mexican version of EBay.
So I'm puzzled & a little concerned. Nothing like this has happened to me before.
Any clues??
Thanks, -M

dan_nc
10-06-2006, 05:16 PM
Does your friend work for mercadolibre?

tekniko
10-06-2006, 09:39 PM
mercadolibre is eBay in Mexico. So the only thing that comes to mind just like Dan said he probably works for that company. I have been selling on eBay for the past seven years and this is the reason I'm telling you this. I hope that helps.

etoc
10-11-2006, 06:01 PM
I think there's nothing to worry about :)