PDA

View Full Version : boomspeed fees?


joyt
12-19-2003, 07:58 AM
my *FREE* web hoster, boomspeed, wants my credit card number and a $2.99 "age verification" fee.

has anyone gotten similar emails?

All Credit Card charges are processed & verified MANUALLY.
Thus, if your card does not go through, your account will not be created nor upgraded.
** This is a safe and secure page as noted by the at the bottom of your browser window. **

** Also NOTE: This IS a legitimate site which you can verify by the https://secure.boomspeed.com/ URL **
** which is a secure server owned and operated by Boomspeed.Com . Check our Support Forums for additional verification. **
** Please click on the Thawte Logo for verification **

Boomspeed User ID:
Email Address:
First & Last Name:
Street Address:
City: State or Province
Zip or Postal Code: Country:
Phone/Fax:
Card Type Visa Mastercard AMEX Discover/Novus
Card Number Expiration (MMYY example 0104)
Where did you hear about BoomSpeed.Com ?

In order to keep Boomspeed safe we are requiring all members to provide proof of age with a valid credit or debit card. Our Terms of Service agreement clearly states that all members must be 18 years of age or older. [B]The age verification fee is only $2.99. [B]

Your phone number is optional. BoomSpeed will never sell, rent or loan your private information to advertisers,
as we respect your privacy. Our Privacy policy can be read right HERE

thanks-----------

joy
"Now the only healthy way to live, as I see it, is to learn to like all the little every day things."
~ Gus McCrae

jimnms
12-19-2003, 04:51 PM
You should contact boomspeed first. This sounds like a scam. Do you use IE? IE has a security flaw that allows url's to be spoofed. I use Mozilla, and when I went to the URL you posted, I got a blank page.

_____
Learn from the mistakes of others, you won't live long enough to make all of them yourself.

scott7065
12-19-2003, 05:54 PM
If you go to thier homepage http://boomspeed.com/
they describe what you are talking about. It seems genuine but I don't know anything about boomspeed as a company.

Also, if you go to https://secure.boomspeed.com/secure/boomspeed/ageverify.htm
they mention the age verification fee is anual and
"At the end of the free trial period which expires 12/23/2003 my Boomspeed account will be upgraded to a Premium 100 meg account at the rate of $18 per quarter (avg of $6/month)."

It doesn't seem like your *FREE* web hoster is free anymore. You might want to find yourself a new *FREE* web hoster, or if you are interested in paying, http://www.8-95.com/ has been reliable for me and have some good deals.


-Scott

PN
12-19-2003, 06:46 PM
Joy,

If I received an e-mail like this, I would be suspicious and I would want to talk with billing over the phone. "Email spoofing is often an attempt to trick the user into making a damaging statement or releasing sensitive information (such as credit cards)."

Also, Scott may very well be correct when he writes "It doesn't seem like your *FREE* web hoster is free anymore."

PN

[This message was edited by PN on 12-19-03 at 09:11 PM.]

Scott Pruett
12-19-2003, 10:31 PM
plain & simple, don't trust it. never send your credit card # via email or a non-secure site.

switch companies. a lot of great web hosts are so darn cheap these days anyway.

______________
Remember yesterday... Live today... Dream about tomorrow...

Scott Pruett
12-19-2003, 10:34 PM
p.s. check the mail headers & see where the reply-to: address points. Is it a boomspeed.com domain?

oh wait... maybe i'm not reading this right... they want you to go onto their site to submit this info?

______________
Remember yesterday... Live today... Dream about tomorrow...

scott7065
12-20-2003, 10:46 AM
They are useing a secure site (https://) and the SSL Server Certificate belongs to boomspeed.com and is issued by "Thawte Server CA".


-Scott